This is the "Koch Art History Collection" page of the "Washburn University Archives and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Washburn University Archives and Special Collections  

Washburn University Archives and Special Collections
Last Updated: Nov 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.washburn.edu/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Koch Art History Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access

The Washburn University Archives and Special Collections offer access Monday through Friday by appointment.

Please note all of the materials in the Archives and Special Collections are non-circulating.

 

Appointments

It is always best to make an appointment at least 24 hours in advance of your desire to work in the Washburn University Archives and Special Collections due to both personnel and space constraints.

This is best done by directly contacting the University Archivist Martha Imparato either by e-mail at martha.imparato@washburn.edu and/or telephone at (785) 670-1981.

 

The William I. Koch Art History Collection

Koch Art History Banner

The William I. Koch Art History Collection is a special collection within the University's Mabee Library.  Donated through the generosity of William I. Koch, the collection consists of more than 12,000 monographs, exhibition catalogs, periodical volumes, auction catalogs and ephemera items covering the history of visual arts, photography and architecture.

William I. Koch

Bill Koch is founder and president of The Oxbow Group, a diversified holding company included by Forbes as one of the 500 largest privately held companies in America.  The Oxbow Group consists of more than 30 companies specializing in producing electricity from alternative sources such as wind and geothermal sources, coal and petroleum coke trading, oil production, composite pipe manufacturing and real estate development. 

Koch's savvy isn't limited to his business success in the oil industry. His winning the 1992 America's Cup demonstrated that competitive sailing isn't limited to only those few for whom it's a career.  He launched an even more daring experiment with an all-female America's Cup Crew in 1995. 

A native of Wichita, Koch also is well known for his philanthropic endeavors and his leadership role in developing the Koch Crime Commission, which encourages innovative local solutions by bringing together experts and citizens from across the nation and Kansas.

While the collection focuses primarily on European and American arts and artists from the mid-19th through mid-20th centuries, virtually all time periods are represented.  A  substantial collection of catalogues  raisonnes, limited editions, and major reference works are also included.

The current list of holdings in this collection is accessible through the ATLAS on-line library catalog by selecting the author term "William I. Koch Art Collection."

Dean of University Libraries

Profile Image
Alan Bearman, Ph.D.
Contact Info
Mabee Library
Washburn University
1700 SW College Avenue
Topeka, KS 66621
(785) 670-1855
Send Email
Subjects:
History
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip