Help is little more than a click away!
Journals are a great source of information and often provide the most current detailed information on a subject. Often a journal article will lead an author to expand it into a book. Like books any scholarly journal article will have threads which lead you to additional information. These threads are called notes, and take the form of footnotes at the bottom of each page, or endnotes at the conclusion of the article. The ability to follow those threads is IMPORTANT in research.
IMPORTANT!!! : Not all online databases are completely full-text! In fact most are not.
You WILL need to know how to find a journal article once you have a non full-text citation in a database. Check first our ONLINE CATALOG for any Library holdings. Depending upon that result, you may decide to do an INTERLIBRARY LOAN. This is an easy process, and with present technology many articles are delivered right to your desk top.
SECONDARY SOURCE: An Interpretation by an author related to an event, individual or issue under study. Most secondary sources in a Library will be books or journal articles.
SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLE: Piece of work much shorter than a book, based on research and includes documentation of all sources.
PEER-REVIEWED ARTICLE: A Scholarly journal article which is evaluated and approved by experts in the field prior to publication. May also be called a Refereed or Juried article.
Comprehensive source for articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, religion, literature, and other subjects. Content: Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text. Coverage: 1901 - present.
General and Subject Oriented Indices/Databases Useful in Historical Research
Access to databases which Washburn University purchases will require your WU WIN number.
Offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline. Contains full text of the journal Science from 1990-present.
Washburn now has access to the complete JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection which includes JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Thematic Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants. These collections encompass content from a broad range of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
Use these sources to find if Mabee Library has holdings/access to a cited journal, OR use the link below to do an INTERLIBRARY LOAN. [Check Mabee Library holdings BEFORE completing the loan form.]
Access to databases which Washburn University purchases will require your WU WIN number.
Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Displays library holdings for libraries in the U.S. and worldwide. Includes a direct link for interlibrary loan via Tipasa. Coverage: Approximately 3400 BCE - present.
