Help is a little more than a click away!
Mabee Library has any number of primary sources accessed via the online catalog.
Access to databases which Washburn University purchases will require your WU WIN number.
Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Displays library holdings for libraries in the U.S. and worldwide. Includes a direct link for interlibrary loan via Tipasa. Coverage: Approximately 3400 BCE - present.
Primary sources are first-hand accounts created by participants in or witnesses to a particular event. The writers of these accounts are CONTEMPORARY to the event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, speeches, memoirs, autobiographies, interviews, transcripts of oral history sessions, treaties, church records, census records, photographs, maps, and certain government publications.
Primary sources are very exciting. These people witnessed and recorded an historic event. You will see several linked sites listed below which provide access to primary sources. Look at them. Part of research is discovering those primary resources specific to your subject. Do not neglect the Mabee Library's ONLINE CATALOG as a place to start your search. WORLDCAT is another great place to check. Primary sources are just everywhere. Look under every unturned rock. That source might just be the key to a great research project. You will find the OPEN LIBRARY resource amazing. This allows access to over 1,000,000 pre-early 20th century published books full-text online. This is exciting stuff for historians. You will definitely find it useful.
And don't forget about INTERLIBRARY LOAN!
HAPPY HUNTING!!
The pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia. Coverage: 1603-early 1800's.
