"The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."
Run through the University of Minnesota, Open Textbook Library aims to, "help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed."
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work." (About, Digital Commons Network)
"OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum."
"PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication."
The moving image collection on Internet Archive has thousands of videos from full length public domain movies, news, and television to video game speed runs.
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Find and view collections of Smithsonian public domain resources related to biology in their Learning Lab. You can also search individual items. You can refine the search to resource type and content provider.
"Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OER include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge" (the William and Flora Hewitt Foundation, https://lumenlearning.com/about/whats-oer/).
