Mabee Library has many videos of interest. If you know of a specific title, type it in the space below. If you are checking our collection for a video on a specific subject, type "videorecording" and your subject and click "find it". It is easy.
This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. The embeddable video player with keyword-searchable transcripts allows users to browse and refine with intuitive facets and then create and share custom clips and playlists.
This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than 1,800 documentary films and over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives. This collection includes both Ethnographic Video Volume I and Ethnographic Video Volume II. Volume II provides an additional 450 films, including films from a number of new publishers and distributors, such as the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI), ZED, and Documentary Educational Resources (DER). Coverage: 1922 - Present.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowNow considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world, British Pathé is a treasure trove of films unrivaled in historical and cultural significance. The collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture. It is an invaluable resource for broadcasters, documentary producers and archive researchers worldwide.
British Pathé historical video collections now include Reuters historic footage filmed before 1980. This brings together two of the greatest newsreel collections in the world, more than doubling the content British Pathé has to offer, increasing the total number of film items to 208,000 and the date range covered to 1980. All the clips are free to view on www.britishpathe.com. See website for more information on licensing and permitted uses.
Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Displays library holdings for libraries in the U.S. and worldwide. Includes a direct link for interlibrary loan via Tipasa. Coverage: Approximately 3400 BCE - present.
Example of a specific site which makes available some great video content.