The name Ichabod is derived from the first name of Ichabod Washburn, an early benefactor of the university. Until 1938 there were no particular characteristics associated with Mr. Ichabod and there was no graphic representation of him.
The following explanatory material accompanied Ichabod's first representation in the 1938 Kaw yearbook: "He has courage and enthusiasm as shown by his brisk walk. He is democratic and courteous, for he tips his hat as he passes. Sincere in his search for truth and knowledge, he studiously carries a book under his arm. His friendly smile makes you like him. He is neatly dressed and he fits well into his generation...but he adapts himself with equal ease to any change or any age."
The University Archives and Special Collections are part of the Washburn Community of Learning. Their goals are:
To collect, preserve and make accessible the history of Washburn University.
To support the University curriculum by making accessible primary sources and rare materials.
The Washburn University Archives and Special Collections offer access Monday through Friday by appointment.
Please note all of the materials in the Archives and Special Collections are non-circulating.
It is always best to make an appointment at least 24 hours in advance of your desire to work in the Washburn University Archives and Special Collections due to both personnel and space constraints.
This is best done by directly contacting the University Archivist Martha Imparato either by e-mail at martha.imparato@washburn.edu and/or telephone at (785) 670-1981.
