The Age of Prediction : Algorithms, AI, and the Shifting Shadows of Risk by
The interplay between prediction and risk and role of advanced predictive technologies (biotechnology, AI, and big data) in provoking social change
The AI Dilemma: 7 Principles for Responsible Technology by
The misuse of AI has led to wrongful arrests, crashed airplanes, even genocide-this book offers 7 powerful principles that businesses can use now to end the harm. Cambridge Analytica, the Boeing 737 Max crash, Facebook's role in the Rohingya genocide-AI is increasingly implicated in serious abuses, misuses, and misfires. The technology stands accused of systematically doing harm without accountability. Drawing on research at Columbia University and Intel Labs, and illustrated with dozens of real-world examples, this book offers 7 principles for harnessing the power of AI to help humans flourish. This is a straightforward guide for business leaders, technologists, regulators, and concerned citizens seeking to realize the promise of AI
Artificial Intelligence: A Guide for Thinking Humans by
No recent scientific enterprise has proved as alluring, terrifying, and filled with extravagant promise and frustrating setbacks as artificial intelligence. An award-winning author and leading computer scientist reveals its turbulent history and the recent surge of successes, grand hopes, and emerging fears that surround AI
Atlas of AI by
Crawford reveals how AI is a technology of extraction: from the minerals drawn from the earth, to the labor pulled from low-wage information workers, to the data taken from every action and expression. This book shows how this planetary network is fueling a shift toward undemocratic governance and increased inequity. Rather than taking a narrow focus on code and algorithms, Crawford offers us a material and political perspective on what it takes to make AI and how it centralizes power. This is an account of what is at stake as technology companies use artificial intelligence to reshape the world.
Awkward Intelligence Where AI Goes Wrong, Why It Matters, and What We Can Do about It by
Zweig introduces readers to the basics of AI and presents a toolkit for designing AI systems. She explains algorithms, big data, and computer intelligence, and how they relate to one another. Finally, she explores the ethics of AI and how we can shape the process. With Awkward Intelligence, Zweig equips us to confront the biggest question concerning AI: where we should use it—and where we should not.
A Brief History of Intelligence by
A Brief History of Intelligence bridges the gap between neuroscience and AI to tell the brain’s evolutionary story, revealing how understanding that story can help shape the next generation of AI breakthroughs. Deploying a fresh perspective and working with the support of many top minds in neuroscience, Bennett consolidates this immense history into an approachable new framework, identifying the “Five Breakthroughs” that mark the brain’s most important evolutionary leaps forward. Each breakthrough brings new insight into the biggest mysteries of human intelligence. Containing fascinating corollaries to developments in AI, A Brief History of Intelligence shows where current AI systems have matched or surpassed our brains, as well as where AI systems still fall short. Simply put, until AI systems successfully replicate each part of our brain’s long journey, AI systems will fail to exhibit human-like intelligence.
Dancing with Robots by
Futurist, entrepreneur, and innovation coach Bill Bishop describes 29 strategies for success in the New Economy. These new strategies represent a bold, exciting, unexpected, and radically different road map for future success. Bishop also explains how our Five Human Superpowers ― embodied pattern recognition, unbridled curiosity, purpose-driven ideation, ethical framing, and metaphoric communication ― give us a competitive edge over robots and other advanced technology in a world being taken over by automation and AI
Deep Learning by
An accessible introduction to the artificial intelligence technology that enables computer vision, speech recognition, machine translation, and driverless cars.
Machines Like Us by
It’s sometime in the not-so-distant future, and you send your fully autonomous self-driving car to the store to pick up your grocery order. The car is endowed with as much capability as an artificial intelligence agent can have, programmed to drive better than you do. But when the car encounters a traffic light stuck on red, it just sits there—indefinitely. Its obstacle-avoidance, lane-following, and route-calculation capacities are all irrelevant; it fails to act because it lacks the common sense of a human driver, who would quickly figure out what’s happening and find a workaround. In Machines like Us, Ron Brachman and Hector Levesque—both leading experts in AI—consider what it would take to create machines with common sense rather than just the specialized expertise of today’s AI systems.
Neurorobotics: Connecting the Brain, Body, and Environment by
This textbook describes approaches and design principles for developing intelligent autonomous systems grounded in biology and neurosciences
The Rise of AI: Implications and Applications of Artificial Intelligence in Academic Libraries by
"Librarians are uniquely positioned to rise to the challenge that artificial intelligence (AI) presents to the field. Libraries and their like have existed for millennia; they progress with society, altering and adapting their services to meet the information needs of their communities. The Rise of AI collects projects, collaborations, and future uses from academic librarians who have begun to embrace AI in their work. In three parts-User Services, Collections and Discovery, and Toward Future Applications-it explores: machine translation; creating incubation spaces; robotics; combining information literacy initiatives with AI literacy; fostering partnerships with other on-campus groups; integrating AI technology into collections to enhance discoverability; using AI to refine metadata for images, articles, and theses; and machine learning. The Rise of AI introduces implications and applications of artificial intelligence in academic libraries and hopes to provoke conversations and inspire new ways of engaging with the technology. As the discussion surrounding ethics, bias, and privacy in AI continues to grow, librarians will be called to make informed decisions and position themselves as leaders in this discourse"
Understanding Artificial Intelligence: Fundamentals and Applications by
This is an introductory book for professionals and undergraduate students without any background in artificial intelligence. The book describes how the new artificial intelligence technology, neural network, totally changes our everyday life. It first describes the neural network development history and introduces the classical neural network -- convolutional neural network architecture. After that, it covers the artificial development in six different areas; healthcare, finance, retail, manufacturing, agriculture, and smart city. This book targets students with different backgrounds, such as, business, humanity, arts, science and engineering, allowing them to understand the artificial intelligent general applications and how this impacts on their future.
AI in Learning: Designing the Future by
Includes the latest research on AI in Learning, connecting human learning and machine learning. Provides pedagogical models and practices to use AI at different levels of education and in working-life
Reflects on ethical issues of AI in various contexts. Provides pedagogical models and practices to use AI at different levels of education and in working-life
This link opens in a new window
AI Narratives by
This book is the first to examine the history of imaginative thinking about intelligent machines. As real artificial intelligence (AI) begins to touch on all aspects of our lives, this long narrative history shapes how the technology is developed, deployed, and regulated. It is therefore a crucial social and ethical issue.
Archives, Access, and Artificial Intelligence by
Digital archives are transforming the Humanities and the Sciences. Digitized collections of newspapers and books have pushed scholars to develop new, data-rich methods. Born-digital archives are now better preserved and managed thanks to the development of open-access and commercial software. Digital Humanities have moved from the fringe to the center of academia. Yet, the path from the appraisal of records to their analysis is far from smooth. This book explores crossovers between various disciplines to improve the discoverability, accessibility, and use of born-digital archives and other cultural assets.
Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science by
This open access book constitutes selected papers presented during the 30th Irish Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science, held in Munster, Ireland, in December 2022. The 41 presented papers were thoroughly reviewed and selected from the 102 submissions. They are organized in topical sections on machine learning, deep learning and applications; responsible and trustworthy artificial intelligence; natural language processing and recommender systems; knowledge representation, reasoning, optimisation and intelligent applications.
This link opens in a new window
Augmented Education in the Global Age: Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Learning and Work by
Augmented Education in the Global Age: Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Learning and Work is an edited collection that explores the social impact of Artificial Intelligence over the coming decades, specifically how this emerging technology will transform and disrupt our contemporary institutions. Chapters in this book discuss the history of technological revolutions and consider the anxieties and social challenges of lost occupations, as well as the evolution of new industries overlapping robotics, biotechnology, space exploration, and clean energy. Chapter authors unpack the nature of augmented education, from revamping curriculum and personalizing education, to redesigning workplace learning for an algorithmic era. Ultimately the book discusses policy and planning for an augmented future, arguing that work and learning are undergoing a metamorphosis around creativity and innovation amid a new global era and the race against automating technologies. Bringing together expert perspectives from around the world, this exciting, informative collection of research and analysis helps educators, policymakers and analysts navigate the future of work and learning amid rapid and accelerating technological change.
This link opens in a new window
Ethics of Artificial Intelligence by This link opens in a new window
Kant and Artificial Intelligence by
How are artificial intelligence (AI) and the strong claims made by their philosophical representatives to be understood and evaluated from a Kantian perspective? Conversely, what can we learn from AI and its functions about Kantian philosophy's claims to validity? This volume focuses on various aspects, such as the self, the spirit, self-consciousness, ethics, law, and aesthetics to answer these questions.
This link opens in a new window
The Prospect of a Humanitarian Artificial Intelligence by
In this open access book, Carlos Montemayor illuminates the development of artificial intelligence (AI) by examining our drive to live a dignified life. He uses the notions of agency and attention to consider our pursuit of what is important. His method shows how the best way to guarantee value alignment between humans and potentially intelligent machines is through attention routines that satisfy similar needs. Setting out a theoretical framework for AI Montemayor acknowledges its legal, moral, and political implications and takes into account how epistemic agency differs from moral agency. Through his insightful comparisons between human and animal intelligence, Montemayor makes it clear why adopting a need-based attention approach justifies a humanitarian framework. This is an urgent, timely argument for developing AI technologies based on international human rights agreements.
This link opens in a new window
