"Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OER include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge" (the William and Flora Hewitt Foundation, https://lumenlearning.com/about/whats-oer/).
"The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."
Run through the University of Minnesota, Open Textbook Library aims to, "help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed."
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work." (About, Digital Commons Network)
"OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum."
"PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication."
The moving image collection on Internet Archive has thousands of videos from full length public domain movies, news, and television to video game speed runs.
Physics
This introductory, algebra-based, two-semester college physics book is grounded with real-world examples, illustrations, and explanations to help students grasp key, fundamental physics concepts
Find and view collections of Smithsonian public domain resources related to physics in their Learning Lab. You can also search individual items. You can refine the search to resource type and content provider.
Search results related to physics from OER commons. You can refine the results to fit content type and education level.
OER for Astronomy
Astronomy
The book begins with relevant scientific fundamentals and progresses through an exploration of the solar system, stars, galaxies and cosmology. The Astronomy textbook builds student understanding through the use of relevant analogies, clear and non-technical explanations, and rich illustrations.
Find and view collections of Smithsonian public domain resources related to astronomy in their Learning Lab. You can also search individual items. You can refine the search to resource type and content provider.
This book was created for an undergraduate Introduction to Industrial Engineering course at The University of Texas at Arlington (UTA). The chapters give an overview of the profession and an introduction to some of the tools used by industrial engineers in industry. There are interactive content exercises included at the end of most chapters. This interactive content aims to engage students in the content as they are reading.
This book’s content should prepare you for subsequent classes covering Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics and Mechanics of Materials. At its core, Engineering Statics provides the tools to solve static equilibrium problems for rigid bodies. The additional topics of resolving internal loads in rigid bodies and computing area moments of inertia are also included as stepping stones for later courses.
A collection of readings and exercises aligned with the course, ME 270, Introduction to Mechanical Engineering Design, at Iowa State University. This course provides an overview of mechanical engineering design with applications to thermal and mechanical systems, and an introduction to current design practices used in industry.
The Open Source Physics (OSP) Project is a group of physicists and educators working to provide high quality computer-based curricular resources to engage students in physics, computation, and computer modeling
Run by the Astrophysical Research Consortium, SkyServer Projects has activities using the Sloan Digital Sky Survey. Categories include basic, advanced, and research challenges.
The ASAM OSI® (Open Simulation Interface) is a specification for interfaces between models and components of a distributed simulation. OSI is strongly focused on the environmental perception of automated driving functions.
SimSE is an educational software engineering simulation environment whose goal is to bridge the gap between the large amount of conceptual software engineering knowledge given to students in lectures and the comparably small amount of this they actually get to put into practice in an associated "toy" software engineering project. SimSE allows students to practice a "virtual" software engineering process (or sub-process) in a fully graphical, interactive, and fun setting in which direct, graphical feedback enables them to learn the complex cause and effect relationships underlying the processes of software engineering.
