Evidence-Based Practice

The AHRQ is the federal agency tasked with improving the safety and quality of healthcare in the US. Available resources include, educational and training toolkits, data & analytics tools, fact sheets, and evidence-based practice reports.

The NCBI Bookshelf is a free online service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It offers access to the full text of books, reports, databases, and other peer-reviewed scholarly publications in the fields of biology, medicine, and life sciences

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s WONDER, or Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research, is a collection of databases that contain a wide array of public health information and statistics.

Website and online database of past, present, and upcoming clinical research studies (clinical trials and observational studies). Relies on sponsors and investigators to submit and update their study information. Study records include a name and description, disease/health issue studied, (if the study has yet to be conducted) information on who/how many participants can join a study, and study results

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R) is a program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute in partnership with the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The CHR&R encompasses data on nearly all counties in the U.S.. Health metrics include but are not limited to health behaviors (alcohol and drug use, diet and exercise, sexual activity, and tobacco use); clinical care, including health care access and quality; social and economic factors (education, employment, income, family and social support, and community safety); and, physical environment (air and water quality, housing, transit).

MedlinePlus is a free online health information service provided by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It serves as a reliable source of consumer health information for patients, families, and the general public

State Health Facts is a project of KFF and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including KFF reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.

The World Health Organization assists nations with health and safety initiatives, establishes international health standards and goals, gathers global health related data. Their extensive data and statistical collections, health guidelines, and health-related news and statements are robust and authoritative. The GLOBAL HEALTH OBSERVATORY is the WHO’s portal to health data for 194 nations, and access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics.