For our purposes a Boolean search is a logical use of the "and", "or", and "not" concepts to develop search strategies for finding articles in databases.
Journals are a great source of information and often provide the most current detailed information on a subject. Often a journal article will lead an author to expand it into a book. Like books, any scholarly journal article will have threads which lead you to additional information. These threads are called notes, and they take the form of footnotes at the bottom of each page, or endnotes at the conclusion of the article. The ability to follow those threads is important in research.
It's important to note that not all databases are in full text. In fact, most are not. You will need to know how to find a journal article once you have a non full-text citation in a database. Check first our online catalog for any Library holdings. Depending upon that result, you may decide to do an interlibrary loan. This is an easy process, and with present technology, many articles are delivered right to your desktop.
Primary Sources: The direct, uninterpreted records of the subject of your research project. As such, a primary source can be almost anything, depending on the subject and purpose of your research. Be creative in thinking of possible relevant primary sources of information on your topic.
Secondary Source: An Interpretation by an author related to an event, individual or issue under study. Most secondary sources in a library will be books or journal articles.
Scholarly Journal Article: Piece of work much shorter than a book, based on research and includes documentation of all sources.
Peer-Reviewed Article: A Scholarly journal article which is evaluated and approved by experts in the field prior to publication. May also be called a Refereed or Juried article.
Access to databases which Washburn University purchases will require your WU WIN number.
Offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline. Contains full text of the journal Science from 1990-present.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowWashburn now has access to the complete JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection which includes JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Thematic Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants. These collections encompass content from a broad range of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Covers all psychology-related subjects. Coverage: 1894 - present.
This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth research coverage to international literature in psychology and related disciplines including education, business, medicine, nursing, law, and social work. Publisher: American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1800's - present.
This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to over 1600 full-text, peer reviewed journals. These journals are available within the two broad subject collections below:
Health & Life Sciences Journals Collection: Worldwide coverage of leading literature in fields including agriculture & biological sciences, biochemistry, environmental sciences, food sciences, genetics & molecular biology, health & nursing professions, immunology & microbiology, medicine & mental health, neuroscience, pharmacology, and more.
Social & Behavioral Sciences Journals Collection: Worldwide coverage of leading literature in fields including accounting & finance, business & management, economics, education, geography, language & linguistics, library & information sciences, psychology, sociology, social policy & political science, and tourism & transportation.
Content: Full-text to subscribed journals; citations, abstracts & pay-per-view-full-text to unsubscribed journals. Coverage: 1859 - Present.