LibGuides: Fake News: Library Resources

Book on Fake News

Broadcast Hysteria: Orson Welles's War of the worlds and the art of fake news by A. Brad Schwartz
Call Number: PN1991.77.W3 S48 2015
ISBN: 9780809031610
Publication Date: 2015

Library Databases

Utilize Mabee Library Databases to find news. Here are some places to start.

News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as InfoTrac Newsstand. An innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Contains more than 2,000 newspapers. Coverage: 1983 - present.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washburn University Libraries is pleased to provide a subscription to the New York Times Academic Pass. Anyone with a valid Washburn University email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and smartphone apps. Learn how to obtain a New York Times Academic Pass.
The New York Times is an internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the world in print and online. Regarded as a national newspaper of record, it has won over 115 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other news organization.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full-text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others. Also contains over 902,000 television and radio news transcripts with video and podcasts to be added. Coverage: 1985 - present.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The University Library in partnership with the Washburn University School of Business is pleased to provide current Washburn University students, faculty and staff with Washburn-sponsored WSJ educational membership. See the Wall Street Journal @ Washburn LibGuide to learn more.
The Wall Street Journal is a business-focused, English-language international newspaper based in New York City. It is the largest newspaper in the United States by circulation. The Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper derives its name from Wall Street in the heart of the Financial District of Lower Manhattan.