Open Education

Webpage for the United States Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers extensive digital collections in many subject areas.

"The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge." (DPLA, about).

Digital collections of the British Library

"Explore 914,267 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections" (nypl.org).

"The Folger Shakespeare Library offers a broad array of online resources to aid students and scholars with their research on Shakespeare and the early modern period. A list of these online resources and a brief description of their functionality is below."

"Our digital collections include over 35,000 digitized books and manuscripts (available in either our Digital Library or as part of the Biodiversity Heritage Library) as well as digitized photo collections, ephemera, and seed catalogs" (library.si.org)

"We believe the works in this collection are eligible for free public access under 17 U.S.C. Section 108(h) which allows for non-profit libraries and archives to reproduce, distribute, display and publicly perform a work if it meets the criteria of: a published work in the last twenty years of copyright, and after conducting a reasonable investigation (read more here), no commercial exploitation or copy at a reasonable price could be found. This provision was enacted at the same time as the Sonny Bono Copyright Term Extension Act. This collection has been named for Sonny Bono to acknowledge this valuable exemption specifically granted to libraries that was put into the law." (https://archive.org/details/last20?tab=about).

"The primary mission of the Watson Library Digitization Initiative is to expand access to the Museum's rare and unique research materials by developing, supporting, and promoting a distinctive digital collection of these items. The initiative targets materials that fall outside the parameters of other major digitization efforts, such as Google Books or the Internet Archive, and makes them accessible to support the scholarly endeavors of The Metropolitan Museum of Art's staff as well as an international community of researchers"

"Europeana provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with digital access to European cultural heritage material" (about).