Citation analysis is used frequently by faculty to trace and measure the impact of their scholarly research and to justify tenure. Although Web of Science is the major research database for citation tracking, it is not available through Mabee Library. However, with recent changes in scholarly communication, including open access journals and preprint servers, even Web of Science may miss research literature. New tools such as Scopus and Google Scholar help to fill the gap. This guide will lead you to these and additional sources for counting citations.
Web of Science ® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Web of Science ® offers access to six comprehensive citation databases:
Science Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index
Index Chemicus
Current Chemical Reactions
Google Scholar Citations allows authors to keep track of their citations. You may also use it to compute the h-index, i10-index and the total number of citations by creating an author profile. Below is a link to a PowerPoint presentation that describes how to set up your profile, find and add citations to it.
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.
Institutional access, which Mabee Library does not provide, is required to fully benefit from Scopus. However, you may use the Author Preview to find some author detail.
Many of the databases to which Mabee Library subscribes provide citation data. Below is a description of how to find this information in the EBSCOhost databases:
This link opens in a new window
The citation information in Google Scholar is extracted from the scholarly articles in the Scholar database and from the U.S. patents contained in the Google Patents database. If an article was cited by others, you will see a "Cited by" link at the bottom of the record. Click the link to view who has cited this item. Below is an example:
Information literacy assessment
A Walsh - Journal of Librarianship and Information Science, 2009 - lis.sagepub.com
Abstract Interest in developing ways to assess information literacy has been growing for several years. Many librarians have developed their own tools to assess aspects of information literacy and have written articles to share their experiences. This article ...
Cited by 26 - Related articles - All 8 versions
Cautions:
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, patents, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories and universities as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Please note that not everything on Google Scholar is “scholarly.” Washburn University users look for “Washburn Full Text Finder” for links to full-text when available.
