Allied Health

This guide provides information on the many different library and Internet resources available to Washburn University Allied Health students, some basic tips on how to conduct research, and contact information if you need assistance from a librarian. Use the tabs along the top of the page to explore the different resources.

School of Applied Studies Scholarship Application

Boolean Search	Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using the words AND, OR, NOT (known as Boolean operators) to limit, broaden, or define your search.
AND - results will contain both terms   OR - results will have at least one of the terms   NOT - results will exclude this term	EBSCO offers various search modes within Advanced Search for many of its databases and those it hosts. Follow the link below to learn more. EBSCO Search Modes
Keyword and Subject Field Search	Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Default database searches generally search for queries across multiple sections of of an article, such as: all authors, all subjects, all keywords, all titles, and all abstracts.	Avoid using uppercase in EBSCOhost. Search Field codes employ capitalized two-character strings and if your search correlates to one, EBSCOhost will apply that search field, returning unexpected results
Searching with Quotations	Utilize quotations when you require keywords to appear as a phrase, exactly how you have them typed.
Databases vary in how they process queries with and without quotations. Some, for example, process words typed together as phrases, whether or not you use quotation marks It is a good idea to try both search methods.	Phrase searches can help exclude false search hits as some concepts some words will allude to different concepts based on whether they appear together or not. "Skin" and "cancer" can be separate concepts or combined to refer to         carcinoma. Many concepts do not need to be conveyed through a singular phrase. Using quotation marks can end up excluding similarly topical resources. "Vegetable quality" will return results but may not provide related results such as: "variety and quality of fruits and vegetables" "quality attributes of vegetables" "microbial quality of vegetables" "produce quality evaluation"
Truncated Search	Employ truncated searches for expanded and flexible results.
Truncating search terms to just the prefix will often throw off your results.  Hyper*, for instance is far too broad. Hyperthyr*, however, will constrain results to those pertaining to the hyperactivity of the thyroid gland.

• Try different combinations of your keywords as you search for information.
   
• Do not limit your search to full text articles. Most databases link to full text articles in other databases using the Full Text Finder Link. The link will not display if you limit your results to full text.
   
• Keeping track of your searches can be daunting.  Some databases have a feature that allows you to save searches and automatically run them on a regular basis. Some databases have a feature where you can set up an email alert when content is added that matches your search parameters.

The Department of Allied Health offers certificate and degree programs to prepare students for careers in health care. The Allied Health field is diverse, with professions ranging from physical therapy to radiological services. This guide may help you to discover which career path is best for you.

The University Libraries support the study, teaching, and research mission of the department by collecting materials in a variety of formats. Most books are located in the stacks on the fourth floor, but there are also oversize books located on the third floor. Multiple online databases are available to students and faculty on and off campus. Reference materials are available on the main floor and are library-use only.