Check out this guide for more information about scholarly, popular and trade publications!
Is it scholarly? Use the clues!
Articles in scholarly, academic journals go through a review process before publication. Before an article is published, the manuscript is sent out to editors or reviewers, experts in the field, who review it for quality. It is this peer-review process that guarantees the information is reliable, accurate, and authoritative.
Key Points
Access to the documents in these databases is available to all.
To find articles from a citation, search for the name of the journal in Encore, the library catalog, then follow the link provided to the full-text article.
Here is a citation to use for practice. Does Mabee Library provide print and/or electronic access to this article?
Waite, L. J., Goldschneider, F. K., & Witsberger, C. (1986) Nonfamily living and the erosion of traditional family orientations among young adults. American Sociological Review, 51, 541-554.
Articles not owned by Mabee Library may be rquested from another library using a service called "interlibrary loan." The requested articles will be sent to your Washburn e-mail account as a PDF file attachment. This service is free to ALL Washburn students, faculty, and staff.
To place an interlibrary loan request, complete the form.
To find articles in microfilm and microfiche format, search Encore, the library catalog, by the name of the newspaper, magazine or journal. The record will show a WU Mabee Microfilm or WU Mabee Microfiche location.
The microfilm and microfiche file cabinets are located on the 1st floor along the north wall. The file cabinet drawers are labeled in alphabetical order by the title of the publication.
There are two reader/printer machines also along the north wall on the 1st floor which may be used to view and/or print the articles. You may print the articles for free.
To find articles about a specific topic, search one of the Libraries' databases. A database is an organized list of publications in a particular subject area.
A database may not contain all the journal articles which may be of interest. Therefore, it is important to search more than one database. Begin with a general database; if more authoritative sources are required, search one of the Libraries' subject databases.
