EN 300 Advanced Composition

To find articles in microfilm and microfiche format, search Encore, the library catalog, by the name of the newspaper, magazine or journal. The record will show a WU Mabee Microfilm or WU Mabee Microfiche location.

The microfilm and microfiche file cabinets are located on the 1st floor along the east wall. The file cabinet drawers are labeled in alphabetical order by the title of the publication.

There are two reader/printer machines also along the north wall on the 1st floor which may be used to view and/or print the articles. You may print the articles for free.

To narrow your search to articles that present different points of view, try these strategies:

• Conduct a keyword search for your topic and include some form of the word argue. Although argue and argument are not searchable subject headings, some form of the word may appear in the abstract or full text of the article. In some databases, you may use a wildcard (usually an asterisk *) to search all variations of a word, for example, argu* .
  • Additional keywords to try: pros, cons, opposing, viewpoints, against, proponents, issues, opinion, and refute.
• Look for a subdirectory or sub-heading that includes the phrase "Moral and Ethical Aspects."
  • Additional sub-headings to look for: Economic Aspects, Law and Legislation, Political Aspects, Psychological Aspects, Public Opinion, Religious Aspects, Social Aspects

The best sources for recent research in a field are articles from journals and magazines. Most cutting-edge research in any field will appear in journals first.

Peer-reviewed journals, also called scholarly or refereed journals, are a great source of authoritative information. Articles in a refereed journal are reviewed and evaluated by experts in the field prior to publication. This process assures the reader that the content is reliable and timely. Articles from scholarly journals often provide the most current and detailed information on a topic.

Journal articles on specific topics can be found by searching the library's electronic databases. Electronic databases make it easy to find peer-reviewed articles. Most databases have a box you can check to limit your results to peer-reviewed publications.

Please note: Electronic databases describe what has been published, not what Mabee Library owns.

A subject-specific database will help you find articles related to specific disciplines, such as education, allied health, social work, nursing, history, psychology, art, music, etc.

You may find it necessary to search many different subject-specific databases. Follow the link below to the Articles & Databases page to search subject-specific databases.