LibGuides: Nursing Graduate: Point-of-Care Resources

National Library of Medicine Mobile Resources

National Library of Medicine Mobile Applications

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) has released a new mobile app that is intended to serve as the authoritative guide to NLM mobile resources. This app will improve your ability to find and use NLM mobile apps and sites.

Follow this link to check it out.

FREE Government-based Mobile Device Tools

These resources, made available via the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine, can be used either on a PDA (by linking to the websites, or on a computer.

FREE

Government-created for Mobile Devices

PICO Search
Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome
(searchable Database)
askMedline
FREE search of medlineplus and PubMed which accepts natural language (phrases you would use while talking)
Disease Associations
FREE search of PubMed/Medline with a PDA which allows you to enter signs, symptoms, conditions or procedures and a condition or disease and retrieve related research articles from medline/PubMed
more...less...
Research Medline from a PDA
National Library of Medicince Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites
This includes the link to TOXNET Mobile, PubMed Mobile, DailyMed, and Wireless System for Emergency Responders (WISER) to name a few.

Great Point of Care Resources to Consider

Clinical Queries (in PubMed)
Offers a filtered PubMed search for clinical studies, evidence-based articles, and medical genetics research by category (therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis).
Clinical Trials
Developed by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), ClinicalTrails.gov provides regularly updated information about more than 90,000 federally and privately supported clinical research trials. Users can search the database or browse by condition, drug intervention, sponsoring agency, or geographic location.
Medscape
Is a free App, that is a full-featured medical reference that delivers information including images and video on almost every condition and disease.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations. Provides citations to each guidelines's original source and links to electronic full-text if possible.
Psych Drugs
Free App., that is a quick and easy reference for all the psychiatric drugs that are most likely to come up in a daily routine.
SUMSearch
SUMSearch is an Internet search engine for medical knowledge. It selects the best resources among several full-text books and biomedical databases for the question, formats the question for each resource and makes additional searched based on results.
TRIP Database
Provides links to nearly 30,000 items from about 70 sources for evidence-based medicine. Includes links to items found in other sources listed in this subject guide, along with links to articles from high-quality journals such as JAMA and BMJ.

What is 'Point of Care'?

'Point of Care' refers to the care given while working or at the site of the patient. Many information resources are often used as references in point-of-care health, including reference manuals, online databases, diagnostic tools, and of course, patient education information. Any resource that is used in a clinical setting could qualify. Today, many point-of-care information resources are being delivered via mobile technologies such as smart phones.

Below is the point of care resource Washburn subscribes to.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If you have not registered for UpToDate, you must login to MyWashburn and use the UpToDate link on the University Library card to register. Once registered, you may access UpToDate from anywhere by logging in each time you use it.
To maintain your access to UpToDate, you will need to confirm your affiliation with Washburn University every 90 days by clicking on the UpToDate link on the University Library card in MyWashburn and logging in to UpToDate. You do not need to re-register. UpToDate should send you a reminder every 90 days.
A comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource intended to give clinicians concise, practical answers at the point of care. Information is presented in the form of topic reviews, each one addressing a particular clinical issue; those on treatment or management topics include recommendations. Also includes an extensive drug database. Content: Citations, abstracts, selected full-text, clinical information tools, images. Publisher: Wolters Kluwer Health: UpToDate, Inc.
Paid for by Washburn University Libraries.

Nursing Graduate

Health Sciences Librarian

Clinical Tools Online

National Library of Medicine Mobile Resources

FREE Government-based Mobile Device Tools

Great Point of Care Resources to Consider

What is 'Point of Care'?