Ethnography: the scientific description of the customs of individual peoples and cultures, often a full length book.
Ethnographic Research: a qualitative method for collecting data often used in the social and behavioral sciences.
Case Study: an in-depth, detailed examination of a particular case within a real-world context.
Scholarly journal article: Articles that are written by researchers or experts in a field in order to share the results of their original research or analysis with other researchers and students. These articles often go through a process known as peer review where the article is reviewed by a group of experts in the field.
Use these sources to find if Mabee Library has holdings/access to a cited journal, or use the link below to do an interlibrary loan. [Check Mabee Library holdings before completing the loan form.]
Access to databases which Washburn University purchases will require your WIN.
Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Displays library holdings for libraries in the U.S. and worldwide. Includes a direct link for interlibrary loan via Tipasa. Coverage: Approximately 3400 BCE - present.
Journals are a great source of information and often provide the most current detailed information on a subject. Often a journal article will lead an author to expand it into a book. Like books any scholarly journal article will have threads which lead you to additional information. These threads are found in the bibliography of the article. The ability to follow those threads is important in research.
Important!!! : Not all online databases are completely full-text! In fact most are not.
You will need to know how to find a journal article once you have a non full-text citation in a database. Check first our online catalog for any Library holdings. Depending upon that result, you may decide to do an interlibrary loan. This is an easy process, and with present technology many articles are delivered right to your desk top.
Never pay for research! Let the librarians find it for you!
Access to databases which Washburn University purchases will require your WIN.
This link opens in a new window
Anthropology and all subfields including cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. Coverage: 2001 - current year.
Simultaneous Users Allowed: One (1)
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, religion, literature, and other subjects. Content: Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text. Coverage: 1901 - present.
Offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline. Contains full text of the journal Science from 1990-present.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowWashburn now has access to the complete JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection which includes JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Thematic Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants. These collections encompass content from a broad range of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Covers all psychology-related subjects. Coverage: 1894 - present.
This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth research coverage to international literature in psychology and related disciplines including education, business, medicine, nursing, law, and social work. Publisher: American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1800's - present.
This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to over 1600 full-text, peer reviewed journals. These journals are available within the two broad subject collections below:
Health & Life Sciences Journals Collection: Worldwide coverage of leading literature in fields including agriculture & biological sciences, biochemistry, environmental sciences, food sciences, genetics & molecular biology, health & nursing professions, immunology & microbiology, medicine & mental health, neuroscience, pharmacology, and more.
Social & Behavioral Sciences Journals Collection: Worldwide coverage of leading literature in fields including accounting & finance, business & management, economics, education, geography, language & linguistics, library & information sciences, psychology, sociology, social policy & political science, and tourism & transportation.
Content: Full-text to subscribed journals; citations, abstracts & pay-per-view-full-text to unsubscribed journals. Coverage: 1859 - Present.