LibGuides: Sociology/Anthropology: Open Educational Resources

"Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OER include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge" (the William and Flora Hewitt Foundation, https://lumenlearning.com/about/whats-oer/).

OER Links

Search for OER

Open Education
by Scott Brackey Last Updated Dec 16, 2024 830 views this year

Merlot
"The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."
Open Textbook Network
Run through the University of Minnesota, Open Textbook Library aims to, "help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed."
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work." (About, Digital Commons Network)
OER Commons
"OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum."
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
"PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication."
Internet Archive
The moving image collection on Internet Archive has thousands of videos from full length public domain movies, news, and television to video game speed runs.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN)
"The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences."

OER basics

OER for Anthropology and Sociology

Ethnologia Europaea
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal focusing on European cultures and societies, past and present. This journal provides immediate access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.
OER Commons
Search results related to communications from OER commons. You can refine the results to fit content type and education level.
Open Library of Humanities
An award-winning, academic-led, diamond open-access publisher of 28 journals based at Birkbeck, University of London. Their mission is to support and extend open access to scholarship in the humanities – for free, for everyone, for ever.
Smithsonian Open Access Learning Lab
Find and view collections of Smithsonian public domain resources related to communication in their Learning Lab. You can also search individual items. You can refine the search to resource type and content provider.
TED Anthropology
A collection of TED talks and articles related to Anthropology
TED Sociology
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Sociology.
University of Oxford | Podcasts
Find OER podcasts from the University of Oxford.