You can request a title that the University Library doesn't have by doing an Interlibrary Loan. Before making an interlibrary loan request, please check the ATLAS online catalog and the Fulltext Electronic Journal Holdings list. Please allow one week for books and 2-3 days for electronic journals to be processed.
Secondary Source: An interpretation by an author related to an event, individual or issue under study. Most secondary sources in a Library will be books or journal articles.
Scholarly Journal Article: Piece of work much shorter than a book, based on research and includes documentation of all sources.
Peer-reviewed Article: A scholarly journal article which is evaluated and approved by experts in the field prior to publication. May also be called a refereed or juried article.
For our purposes a Boolean search is a logical use of the AND, OR, and NOT concepts to develop search strategies for finding articles in databases.
Journals are a great source of information and often provide the most current detailed information on a subject. Often a journal article will lead an author to expand it into a book. Like books any scholarly journal article will have threads which lead you to additional information. These threads are called notes, and take the form of footnotes at the bottom of each page, or endnotes at the conclusion of the article. The ability to follow those threads is important in research.
Important: Not all online databases are completely full-text! In fact, most are not.
You will need to know how to find a journal article once you have a non full-text citation in a database. Check first with our online catalog by clicking the 360 Link to see if the particular journal you are searching for is available in any other database. Depending upon that result, you may decide to do an Interlibrary Loan. This is an easy process, and with present technology many articles are delivered right to your desktop.
Below is a list of subject oriented indices and databases that are useful for historical research. Don't forget searching general databases, such as Academic OneFile and Academic Search Complete, for information as well.
Access to databases which Washburn University purchases will require your WIN number.
Washburn now has access to the complete JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection which includes JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Thematic Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants. These collections encompass content from a broad range of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
